ASHFoundation State Clinical Achievement Award:

This award recognizes an SDSLHA member for a significant accomplishment in clinical practice within the past six years in audiology and/or speech-language pathology. 

The SDSLHA State Clinical Award Recipient is nominated for the ASHFoundation Louis M. DiCarlo Award for Recent Clinical Achievement. The DiCarlo Award recipient will receive a $2,500 award! The DiCarlo Award is a memorial recognition of Louis M. DiCarlo, who had a long and distinguished clinical career in communication sciences and disorders before his death in 1996 at 93.

Nominees are not limited to any one type of clinical achievement or activity, and past nominees are eligible. However, the achievement must be specific, well defined, and clearly within the last six years. Eligible activities or accomplishments include, but are not restricted to, the following examples:
  • A single achievement with a client or group of clients.
  • A specific clinical service or training program.
  • A specific achievement in a state or local organization or government agency activity.
  • A specific accomplishment in clinical teaching, research, or administration.

Examples of past recognized projects include a new treatment technique, an innovative urban service-delivery program, new clinical research, a training video addressing an unmet need, a multicultural parent training program, a unique hospital program, and a successful state legislative initiative.

Access the Membership Directory to confirm that your nominee is an SDSLHA member.

The following information should be submitted in a Word or PDF document:
  • Nominee's name and contact information
  • Nominator's name and contact information
  • Recent Achievement: Identify the year(s) of recent, specific achievement, which must be within the last six years. The nominator must give the rationale if the recent achievement spans more than one year.
  • Summary Statement: In three sentences or fewer, state why you are nominating this person for the award.
2023 SDSLHA Award Nomination Form Available Summer 2023